Veggie OD & Yerba Mate

Today after working out my trouble zones with Jillian (I’m sorry, am I the only one who thinks that’s funny?!), I put a salad into my egg whites, after my breakfast salad, I ate another salad for lunch featuring tofu and olives, and after my lunch I had a salad for dinner (two- greek and green). Not to mention the fruit overdose that has aided in my veggie one.

I cannot really afford to be sick right now, and I’m not sick enough that I would miss school or miss a workout, I just feel gross enough to want to complain about it the whole day to anyone who’ll listen.

What I did discover today, that helped with my fuzzy head, was Yerba Mate tea.  Have you ever heard of it? It’s a South American tea, that Brendan Brazier talks about in his Thrive Diet book. As I was sipping the tea going over all the health benefits, I couldn’t help but notice the slight increase in my energy. It was not like the boost coffee gives you, but general mental alertness that brought me out of my fog that had consumed me all morning.  It boasts huge energy benefits as well as helps with heart health, immune support, digestion and sleep (apparently drinking it, even though it boosts your energy it doesn’t affect your sleep).

Does it taste good? I don’t know- I can’t really taste things today- I gave some to a friend who said it tasted like dirt, but if the dirt water is going to lift me out of a fog and push me through 3pm lulls, then I will drink it!

Do you have any secrets that help you keep your energy going all day? I think the South Americans are onto something with this one!

7 thoughts on “Veggie OD & Yerba Mate

  1. WOW That tea sounds awesome!! I am not a tea girl- energy going all day for me means SLEEP the night before!! when i get to sleep enough, i feel great!! LOVE the veggies- you can never od!! hehe 🙂

  2. I think I’ve seen Yerbamate in the store. Does it come in a vanilla flavor or perhaps a buttercream frosting flavor? I would drink it if it did.

    Lots of veggies for you! That means one thing…toilet time! hahahaha! Sorry, I’m gross. Can’t help it.

    Thanks for the book reccomendation. I went online and put it on hold at the library 🙂

  3. It sounds like you’re definitely doing the right thing eating all those veggies and fruits. 🙂 They look pretty – even if you can’t taste them. Feel better!

Leave a Reply

