Just Call Me Pocahontas

“Come run the hidden pine trails of the forest; Come taste the sunsweet berries of the Earth
Come roll in all the riches all around you; And for once, never wonder what they’re worth”

Yes, I did just quote Colors of the Wind written by Alan Menken and Stephen Schwartz.

My morning run today was filled with the sun shining, birds chirping, and squirrels running beside me (by beside me I mean on lawns up and down trees like maniacs). Today, Mother Nature, is my friend.. at least by day…

Last night was a full moon, I didn’t know this until I started complaining about my poor sleep (I felt like I was 8 year old girl again and tomorrow Santa was bringing me a Barbie Dream Home- so much to think about!).  That was when my mom pointed out that it was a full moon last night, and I immediately understood why my sleep was bad, until I started researching. Australian Scientists have discovered that there is actually no link between the lunar cycles and our sleep.

Then what’s keeping you up? The light!

How do you sleep on full moons? Or what sort of superstitions do you have around them? People often link personality changes to sleep as well.  That’s just another thing I would attribute to a full moon and be totally fine with.. not anymore!

9 thoughts on “Just Call Me Pocahontas

  1. i absolutely LOVE pochahontas!!!!!! “you think i’m an igronant savageeee, and you’ve been so many places, i guess it must be soooooo, but still i cannot see, if the savage one is ME, how can there be so much that you don’t know? you don’t know…..”

    sorry for that outburst but i loved the film as a kid! x

  2. I’ve never followed moon patterns or anything like that. I guess I sleep the same.

    I can’t call you Pocahontas because in high school there was a girl that got nicknamed Pocahontas after she did something dirty in the bio lab with this guy and a McDonald’s Pocahontas drinking cup.

    Enjoy your weekend 😉

  3. Haha, I LOOOVE that song and that movie. You’re too funny.

    I never really notice how the moon affects my sleep, but probably because I never really sleep well. I think Full Moons are super pretty.

  4. I have never noticed a difference in my mood or sleep patterns during a full moon. Or maybe I’m just not paying enough attention!

    I wanted to answer your question about supplements. It sounds to me like you are taking too much, unless you have some type of malabsorption issue (celiac or fructose malabsorption or even lactose intolerance). Check out my blog post again and make sure you aren’t taking anymore of the listed DVs of each nutrient. The only ones I would say may be ok are vitamin D and B12, but other than that I would slow down! Also, if you have a heavy period iron may be warranted.
    You won’t have any reactions if you wean yourself off ot omega-3. You don’t need omega 6 and 9, only 3.

  5. usually i feel the full moons! i dont think its any exception today either! i either get really drained or moody. but in retrospect its also a time for me too to be really observant of my surroundings. i love ur description of nature, and the little forest dwelling creatures :).. or i guess summer dwelling creatures ❤

  6. Yessss for pocahontas! Love Disney. Love, love, love.

    Your cereal mess looks fantastic as well!

    I sleep fine like 95% of my life, however, I’ve never noticed a correlation with the lunar cycles – maybe I should start paying more attention.

Leave a Reply

