Veggie Taco Salad

Whoomp there it is!

Back when I was an official vegetarian, my diet revolved heavily around things like veggie ground round, veggie burgers and anything else processed and veggie (dogs, tofurkey, soy jerky, you get it..); this time around, now that I’m not a vegetarian, but have embraced the Flexitarian lifestyle (I think I’ve had meat twice in the last week), I’m going to try to do it a little differently.

That being said- this recipe is great if you’re stuck with a pack of veggie ground round, and your only other option is some variation of shake ‘n bake chicken.

Ingredients:
1 Package of Yves Veggie Ground Round- mexican if you wish
1 Can of refried beans
1 Can of diced chili’s
2/3 C of Salsa
2 T Taco Seasoning

Directions (prepare yourself.. it’s hard):

  1. Mix all said ingredients in a sauce pan and heat- when it’s bubbling, the taco mix is ready! Just like that- in one step!

You can top it on a salad (I like mine made with lettuce, cucumber, red pepper and avocado – like the one above) and have salsa and sour cream with it, cheese and chips of some sort; Toss it in a wrap, make tacos with it, eat it by the spoonful, I’m not going to judge.

4 thoughts on “Veggie Taco Salad

  1. oh god i love taco salads!! im not a fan of the ones that make those tortilla bowl shells where everything is dumped inside. i liek them just liek this. i usually put in chicken, beans, salsa, avocado, and serve with greens and blue corn tortilla chips.. oh and usually put jalapenos ontop YUM

  2. That sounds great. I found that once I started eating meat again, my diet was more clean and consisted of less processed foods than when I was a vegetarian. I could only eat lentils so many nights out of the week and Boca Burgers, Chik’n Cutlets, etc…made up the rest. Blech!

  3. Taco salad is up there in my top 3 meals…yours looks a lot like mine usually do. I love the chips on top! That makes it, in my opinion! 🙂

Leave a Reply

