Pigs, Roosters, Sheep, Oh my!

Today started out like any other Saturday.. Except I didn’t have to worry about doing any school work and the sun was out for the first time in weeks (with actual heat).  So what does one do?

Cycle out to the farms, of course! My dad had taken off early in the morning to head to Washington, DC; so mom and I decided it’d be a good idea to ride our bikes to the airport to pick up the car, and some fresh veggies along the way..

It was about an hour and a half ride; I got side tracked by some elite cyclists who went zipping by on a road I’d never been on, so of course I had to follow them.. what if they had wanted my phone number?!  Only one way to find out.. except I wasn’t fast enough (as I am far from elite, incase you did not know).

I don’t know what it is about farm animals, but I do love them- I even changed my cows on my banner out of love for the noisy rooster we ran into..

After our ride, we grabbed a cup of coffee and checked out some plant stores (as mothers like to do) and came home with enough time to have a snack of some lentils (dahl that turned into a hummus when cold) on rice cakes, with some snow peas and carrots- enough to hold me off for the market we planned on hitting up next.

After the market, I sat on my back porch and grabbed some sun, fearing that it will disappear tomorrow, and read some of Michael Pollan’s In Defense of Food- got bored and decided to give p90x yoga a shot- I lasted 55minutes, which in my mind counts as a 2 hour class.  Yoga at home sucks when it’s longer than an hour, it’s so hard to keep going. Does anyone else find that? Or have a solution?

Dinner finally tasted like summer; we managed to find corn to have with with our greek salad (farm fresh tomatoes, cucumber, yellow pepper & goat feta) and mountain bread (filled with hummus, sprouts, lettuce and cucumber).  Needless to say it was amazing and healthful and just what I was in need of!

After a short walk, post dinner (these are times when I wished I was a dog owner), I came home to watch a little Life (narrated by Oprah, my home girl) and eat some soy chocolate ice cream.

Today was one of the best days I’ve had in a while, I’ve been exhausted, and today, I was able to take it easy, nourish my body and just do what I wanted to do, when I wanted to do it and did not feel bad about it one bit. I love days like today.

Hope everyone’s had a good weekend; if you haven’t seen that mountain bread you should definitely check it out, the nutritional info is solid, and all they use is whole wheat, salt and water to make these thin little wraps that are perfection (in my wrap world).

11 thoughts on “Pigs, Roosters, Sheep, Oh my!

  1. Ah, I so wish that I could have joined you for the day. It looks perfect! I’m so glad that you got some time to take it easy and do exactly what you want!

    Have a great Sunday!

  2. I know exactly what you mean by how your day was perfect because things have been hectic and now you can relax/nourish your body the right way. That is what today is for me and it feels great! I love all the farm animal pictures- not only are they photographed amazingly, but the animals are soooo cute!! 🙂
    have a great day!

    xoxox
    shelley

    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  3. you went out to SAANICH! on the bike route!! omg ive biked and ran past those piggiest SO MANY TIMES! i love how they lay ontop of the dirt mounds and sleep in little bundles!

    .. sometimes it smells tho and i have to hold my breath.. other times its not too bad 🙂

  4. Your pictures are great, especially the rooster one! I have the same problem with dvd workouts. I played basketball for 15 years and I don’t know how people get motivated with out all the yelling and pressure from coaches and practices.

Leave a Reply

