Vegetarian?!

PB/Banan oats with protein powder, almond milk, chia seeds, vanilla and cinnamon

I have accidently been vegetarian (vegan yesterday) for two whole days.

Why? Well, I don’t do dairy (sometimes, but I breakout like a 14year old girl), and there’s no meat in my fridge.  I’ve also been reading a lot of vegetarian/vegan books lately from Omnivore’s Dilemma, to Skinny Bitch, to the Thrive Diet, and I can honestly say- though it’s inconvenient, it kind of makes sense.

I just reread the slaughterhouse portion of the Skinny Bitch book- it’s graphic and far too detailed then I care to get into right now, but it’s made me question why I choose to eat meat.  Don’t get me wrong- I like it, and I don’t think I’ll actually go back to being  a vegetarian, but as I get ready to move on into a new place and start a new life, I think I want to start being a more responsible global citizen.  I don’t want to eat animals who are pumped full of hormones, by underpaid illegal immigrants who are going to get sent home when they least expect it (Food Inc); or support an industry that does more harm then good environmentally.

I just want to be more responsible, to not only my health, but the health of the planet and those cute little piggies getting sliced open when they’re still conscious.  I will still eat ethically raised meat and perhaps organic meat- I will even eat regular meat when I have no other choice, but I’m not going to buy it with my own money and cook it in my own kitchen.  There are so many other protein options, I don’t think I need to totally rely on animal meat.

So there you have it- a little rant about what I’ve been thinking lately.  How do you feel about the whole food industry and vegetarian vs not vegetarian?  I’m not going to lie- I love Bacon, but I am interested to know what you think on the topic.

Lunch: 2 falafels, pear, can of tuna (not pictured)

So aside from my vegetarian thinking- I have had quite a lovely day. Woke up- slept in to 6:30am believe it or not! Then I ate my oats, drank some coffee, did a little homework and it was down to the dungeon for a little p90x kenpo karate- don’t worry I got the front guy and they guy behind me..

Snack x3: Mary's crackers with AB/J in between

I then got together with a girlfriend and did a little power walk and grabbed a coffee- It was sunny for the first time in two weeks, so we had to take advantage of it! I even made it down to a tank and shorts (woop!)

Salad w. 2T soy nuts

I did a little bit more work for school; I’m hoping to be done with school by tomorrow, but perhaps not until Thursday (fingers crossed).

1C Amy's Lentil Vegetable Soup w. 2 corn thins

Afterwards I went to a hot power flow class which felt great- and then came home to a little soup and salad for dinner.  My energy levels have finally increased, and so far I’m feeling really good not having any added sugar in my diet.  The last day of my detox is tomorrow, and I think I’m going to try and keep my added sugar to less than 10grams a day. I don’t want to say I won’t have any ever in the week, because what will happen when it’s someone’s birthday and there’s cake being offered?! Exactly.

So there you have it- I will have a full detox review for you on Thursday.

I have written a guest post on Emily’s blog which will be posted tomorrow, so for those of you wanting to read my full story (in far more detail then the one on this site) you can head over there and check it out.

11 thoughts on “Vegetarian?!

  1. I agree with you about the meat issue. I try to keep my intake of animal products minimal, but I find that trying to be a vegan or vegetarian is not only inconvenient and creates a lot of tension with my family, but it creates this restrictive mentality I just can’t live with. If I feel like any food is forbidden, I get obsessed and unhappy.
    I don’t eat as many animal products as I used to, but I still eat them. I guess a responsible flexitarian is the best I can do right now.

  2. I have accidently been vegetarian (vegan yesterday) for two whole days. = COOL!!!

    The fact that you’re not going to buy meat with your own $ and you are being so conscious and thinking this thru..I love this! Whether you do or dont go veg/vegan, that fact that you’re AWARE…that’s all that anyone can ask of someone else 🙂
    xo

  3. I agree with Averie that is great reading about people who care to educate themselves and be much more aware about the livestock industry, etc. This is a great post! I am definitely a plant-based diet person but I know that some just can’t or don’t want to live that way, so I won’t force them. The eats all sound delicious!

  4. I’m in the same boat as you my friend. I have the books you mentioned and they’ve inspired me to make more responsible choices in the grocery store. I try and try to eat vegetarian, but then my cravings kick in for a juicy chicken breast and I can’t deny it. I was vegetarian for a long time and then went back on the meat wagon. I’ve been thinking about going veg again, maybe if I take it slow? I think I’m going to read Skinny Bitch again for motivation. Thanks!

  5. I totally agree! I rarely eat meat, but when I do I try to find the most ethically raised version possible. And I pretty much never bring it into my home. I feel like not buying it at the supermarket makes a pretty big difference.

  6. honestly i used to be black and white thinking between meat or vegan… i totally think no one should buy factory farmed meat. but i advocate local raised wild and organic meats because it supports our local meat companies. if no one supported them.. then the large companie would continue to thrive.. if more chose organic meat then those smaller ethical business would start to have the upper hand. im all for those who do follow veganism/vegetarianism.. having been a vegan for almost 3 years in the past. but i think health and body is first and then we will be able to make the right ethical choices for ourselves. i do find myself having accidental vegan days for sure.. and i enjoy them just as much as the other days. xoxo

  7. i eat a lot of vegetarian foods b/c my husband is, but am always still shocked when i realize it’s been days and haven’t eaten meat.

  8. It is funny how reading about things can get you to do things subconsciencely. I think it is great that you are more aware of what you are eating and how you are eating. I love hearing how people eat and why they choose to do it!

Leave a Reply

