It Could Be Over..

There are three days left to this detox- and to be totally honest, I don’t think going three days on, one day off is truly “detoxing”. I’m still taking the supplements, and have been cutting down my sugar by quite a bit, but I’m not sure what I’ve been doing the last 9 days counts as truly detoxing.

Oh well! You win some, you lose some!

I went for my 1h30 run this morning with a girlfriend who’s also on the cleanse. She drank wine last night, I had sushi- Friday night she ate a burger, I had some artisan pizza with some chocolate ice cream and wine- my life won, the detox lost, but what can you do?!

Today is also Sunday- which in my mind has always been treat day- we just have yummy dinners and no schedules- which means grazing all day.. and what did grazing all day look like for Adrien?

Egg white (with 1 whole egg) and bean scramble for breakfast with her cornthin chip things and salsa.

For lunch? Salad with salted dry roasted soy nuts and a simply bar

Snack? Cookies! (to go with my homework, of course)

Dinner? BBQ chicken, leek/carrot slaw, green salad and chocolate cookies with strawberries and ice cream- because what’s a Sunday without dessert?! No Sunday at all.

Part of being healthy, is also being balanced. Yes, I want to drop my sugar consumption way down, but I also want to live my life and enjoy meals with friends and family.  Two “crazy” dinners a week won’t kill me, especially when I eat so well the rest of the time, so what do I do at this point in my detox?

Get back on the horse tomorrow! I have three days left- I’ve gotta get off this thing with a bang!

Have you ever done a detox and made it all the way through? It seems like a good idea for the first few days- but as I sit here on Day 9, I’m questioning it- I will finish it though (if people still count it as being done!)

9 thoughts on “It Could Be Over..

  1. I completely agree with living in balance and enjoying the occasion with friends/family. I think the point of eating healthy (and being healthy) is to have a long, fufilling life…which means enjoying it too!

  2. It looks like you’re doing a great job with balancing a healthy lifestyle – your food, even on your “cheat-day” are delicious, whole and nourishing!

  3. cookie snack- why of course!! i love that u have a friend thats cleansing too, def think that helps. i totally say that all the time “you win some you lose some” .. sometimes i prolly say it too often tho.

    i think ur doing great on ur cleanse tho! ❤

  4. Tackle those last 3 days! Three days is nothing and before you know it, you’ll be able to relax a bit. So far I haven’t done a detox completely but eventually I will. They’re just so freaking difficult. 😉

  5. I like how you say about your life winning, and detox losing. That’s such a great way to look at that instead of beating yourself up. In the end, the detox is just not worth it! Besides, the purpose of it is for a more fruitful life, ain’t it?

  6. i’ve never fully made it through a detox that long – i always talk myself out of it – so i’ve done shorter 2-3 days ones. but at the end of it all, i don’t think i’ll ever cleanse again. even though i sometimes did feel good, i’ve never felt better, more radiant, more happy than i do after eating a huge amazing, delicious meal with friends.

  7. I think anytime you decrease your sugar intake you will have huge benefits. I love your non-stress attitude toward this detox 🙂

  8. I LOVE that you’re not stressing over the non-detox foods! It is so important to keep balance and perspective on your own life. true health

Leave a Reply

