Yesterday-

This is a little late, but I guess a little late is better than never?! Maybe.. you tell me!

I got up with every intention of going to run club, I’d had my coffee, drank my water, put on my gear, gotten in the car and had made it about five minutes down the road.. That’s when everything changed.  I was waiting for someone, anyone to twist my rubber arm to get out of it- I was planning the workouts that I would do instead, but didn’t have a good enough excuse…

That’s when Kelly msg’d me and said she would run with me today if I didn’t end up going yesterday.. Needless to say, that was all I needed! I came home, threw in old faithful (Tony Horton p90x- Kenpo) and jab/hook/crossed my way to fitness then to top it off I did a little weight training and abs.  Needless to say  I felt great about my decision.  With running I have a love hate relationship. I’m a believer that if you don’t feel like running, and you go- you really won’t like it.  In contrast to that, if you decide you’re not feeling it one day and just don’t bother going (this is not a ohh I just don’t feel like it, you REALLY have to not feel like it)- you’ll get stuck having a crappy run and feeling bad about it for the rest of the day.  It was the best advice of my running experience to date.

There have even been times I gear up, run a block and then come home and eat because I don’t feel like going. It happens, but ever since I got that advice I never felt bad about it.

So after my workout in the morning, I made some bejeweled oats (dolla, dolla bill- I’ll probably make them again today) . I had a break/did some homework, snacked on some tomatoes, and then decided to take my dad to a hatha flow class for an hour and a half. It was a decent class- nothing to brag about.

I didn’t want to be there, and in the end was happy I went- my dad on the other hand was swearing at some woman in a parking lot afterwards- he didn’t find any kind of zen in that room what-so-ever.  And then I made fun of it for the next half hour we were together! (best daughter in the world!) For lunch I threw together some eggs with avocado and salsa and some corn thin chip things I found (at London Drugs- for the Canadians).

The rest of my (very gray) afternoon consisted of homework, a trip to value village to get storage containers for my oats and things when I move- and all I somehow came out with was a Santa Clause cake pan- funny how that happened…  Shortly after I went for some sushi- had a tuna tataki and a vegetable roll – it was delicious and well deserved.

This morning, I’m having a banana with a little AB spread on top and a coffee. I now have to take off because I’m meeting Kelly in a little bit for our long run which I’m looking forward to to say the least!

4 thoughts on “Yesterday-

  1. That is one of the reason why I can’t do training plans. I hate waking up and feeling like I HAVE to do a certain workout. I rather just go with how I’m feeling! I think this is why I might not do any races this summer. I still want to run a half marathon, just without the deadline 🙂

  2. I’m the total opposite when it comes to running – even if I feel like not going but still make myself, I always feel amazing by the end. It doesn’t matter how I feel at the start, running is like a drug for me.

    I love London Drugs and in my opinion, it’s way better than Shoppers. Way more options. 🙂

  3. I feel the same way about running. I’m not down with forcing myself to do something I absolutely don’t want to do. It’s not worth it.

Leave a Reply

