Day 1: Wild Rose

Oh Saturday- How I love thee…

Today I woke up without an alarm at 6:40, I was hoping my alarm would go off and I would be up at 7, but no, my body knew it had things to get done.  I started my day with a big cup of green tea and 750mls of lemon water, and catching up on some much needed blog reading.  I then packed my stuff up and went to meet up with my run club.

I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned my run club before, but I love them. We shuffle a long at a training pace which is around a 6minute kilometer and just chit chat about all the wonders of the world- today moving was big on my mind- and how I’m moving without actually having a job! Come onnnn interviews (Tuesday)..

I then came home, made myself one egg scrambled with 1/3C egg whites, a green apple and 1T of almond butter.  I do love this breakfast, and it has been a staple on previous detoxes.  The reason why I’m using egg whites instead of full eggs is because I have them- so I need to eat them up.

After breakkie I did some much needed cleaning, I put my winter clothes into a bin, threw out socks that didn’t have pairs and started scouring my house for things I can take with me to Vancouver. Yes, it’s a month away, but I’m still looking, you never know what you’ll find!

11:30 rolled around, and I was beat, so what does one do?! Nap! I slept for an hour and then boogied on down to the yoga studio for a little hatha flow. 1h30 minutes later I was in need of some lunch. I came home threw some lettuce, tuna, red pepper, salt, pepper, and dill into a bowl.  I tossed it with some lemon juice and for something carby/sweet I had a corn thin almond butter sandwich. Delish.

I’m not going to lie- I have been chewing my way through a pack of gum today, I’m easing into the cutting out sugar, I figure gum somehow is ok if I’m following the rest of the plan pretty strictly?!  Who knows- that’s just how it’s playing out at this point.

So after lunch, I got a little hungry and made myself a bowl of popcorn, 3T of kernels with a spray of olive oil and salt- I think pop corn will be my saving grace, that or my corn thin sandwiches- they’ve both been good to me today.

Dinner was a chicken breast (marinated in lime juice, olive oil, salt, pepper, cumin, chili powder and garlic powder) with steamed broccoli and quinoa. I’m not going to lie- it was boring and tasted very healthful (which is was)- I also had about 1/8th of a tsp of salad dressing, each bite with dressing in it tasted so much better than the rest of it.

Today I did have a couple “cheats” but all in all it’s been a pretty good day- I took it relatively easy on my run and in my yoga and even got a nap in.

Anyways, off to eat a couple corn thin AB sandwiches (the tally for the day is about 3) and have some tea, if you have any idea for super clean recipes, fill me in! I’m going to need them over the next 12 days!

9 thoughts on “Day 1: Wild Rose

  1. oh running club-how fun! thats really cool 🙂
    yay hatha flow yoga! ❤ mm and i love fish/salmon/tuna salads after yoga.. salads in general after yoga really appear to me for some reason. the detox doesnt sound too bad, and im sure the gum should be fine!

    hmm look into Tosca Reno's Eat Clean Diet Cookbook. It's got some of the best recipes EVER for clean eating! hmm for recipe ideas i suggest millet porridge with berries and chopped walnuts… or any salmon wraps in ezekiel bread… also fresh bean soups are always delicious and u could add soba noodles in with lots of veggies.. what else… umm oh roasted oven chickpeas are great with a little olive oil, sea salt, and pepper… great for snacking… and you can always make a simple and healthy macaroon treat by mixing coconut flakes, egg whites, and stevia/vanilla/carob and baking for 15-20 min at 350 in the oven.

    have a great night ❤

  2. The run club sounds fun. Are you going to find a new one after you move?
    Don’t chew gum girl! I used to chew a pack a day and ended up with TMJ and now have to wear a mouthpiece to realign my jaw and relieve the pain. Don’t chew gum!

    1. I’m not even on the gum train- I just got on board yesterday cause I needed the sweet fix- I feel much, much better today, and yes, I remember you quitting gum a while ago- it takes freaking ages- and now when I have a piece I get gassy- I spent the whole day yesterday craving sweets and farting for it… I’m so attractive! hahah

  3. Sounds like you had a nice little Saturday. 🙂

    What about sweet potatoes? They would give you a little natural sweetness. They’re delicious with beans and some fresh salsa.

  4. I’m really thinking about joining a running club here. But I want to wait until I start marathon training.

    Good job with the detox today. Your food looks really clean. Sometimes a boring, healthful meal is oddly satisfying to me.

Leave a Reply

