Black Bean Salad

I don’t know if you’ve heard- but summer time is basically here.  The smell of fresh cut grass and Bbq take over the neighborhood in the early evenings along with the sounds of screaming kids getting in fights because someone has figured out how to push all their buttons (long summer for that kid).

This salad is delicious, I just made it the other night for a birthday potluck that I went to, and I’m already craving it on this sunny (sorry, had to brag to those who don’t have it) Thursday morning.  Like many of my recipes, it’s easy, healthy (rice and beans are a complete protein hosting all your amino acids) and delicious- and all that I dress it with is lime juice, salt and pepper.

So if you’re in need of a good summer salad, here you go:

Rice and Black Bean Salad:

1C Short Grain Brown Rice (uncooked)
1C Veggie Broth
1 Can Black Beans
3/4C Frozen Corn
1 Red Pepper, Diced
1/2 Purple Onion
1/3C Cilantro, chopped
1 1/2 Limes, juice of

Directions

  1. Cook your rice- add your one cup of short grain brown rice to 1C of veggie broth and 1C of water, bring to a boil, then simmer for 50minutes. Let rice cool.
  2. Chop up all your ingredients mix them into a bowl with lime juice and salt/pepp (to taste)
  3. Once your rice has cooled- I like to make mine in the morning and do the rest of the work after school/work- mix in the rest of the ingredients and there you have it!

It’s kind of like a confetti salad- the aesthetics really take care of themselves on this one, enjoy it!

8 thoughts on “Black Bean Salad

  1. Looks so good! It’s not sunny here at all, but it has been the past few weeks and I’ve loved every minute of it.

  2. This looks really good! I’m a big fan of beans and rice. I just added the link to this page to my neverending list of “recipes to try.” It’s really easy, and that’s a plus in my book. I think I’ll throw in some avocado. Thanks for sharing 🙂

  3. Wow!! ^That is a gorgeous black bean salad. I love black beans but haven’t ever gotten the right ingredients to make a salad out of it. 🙂 Thank you for sharing this fantastic recipe!!

  4. I love the simplicity of this salad! No billions of spices/exotic ingredients…

    Except cilantro and I aren’t friends 😉

Leave a Reply

