That’s Different

Eggs for breakfast on a weekday- a little different.

Veggie Plates and Tuna for Lunch- That’s Different.

Chips and Salsa for Cinqo de Mayo- That’s not so different.. Wine on a Tuesday? A little bit different-

My craving for hearty soups (white flour biscuits included) and meals all week long- that’s very different.

Who even likes salad?! Not me at this point! The marathon messed with my body so bad this past week. I’ve been hungry for carbs like you wouldn’t believe.  I spent Monday and Tuesday fighting back tears for no reason.  Tuesday was especially rough. If I didn’t eat I’d start to well up with tears, so what did I do? I didn’t nap- which is probably what I needed, I ate.  Come to think of it I probably needed the food as well, but it’s tough to adjust to when you’re in recovery and not doing intense workouts.  My legs almost feel like new again- I’ll let you know after today.

I’m starting to feel like I could be back to feeling normal, but it has been a bit of a wild ride to say the least.  I was hanging on to vegetables in my lunch, if I didn’t, I’m not sure that I would have consumed even one this last week.  This week has been a bit different to say the least.

I hope everyone has had a great week- those in need of a little inspiration should head go and check out the see-them-run web site and blog. I listened to Erin speak last night and her story was amazing- definitely worth checking out if you have some time today.

Have you guys ever had weeks where your body is completely off? What do you do? Do you just let it happen or try to fight it?

I’m a fighter- this week, however, I just didn’t have the energy!

8 thoughts on “That’s Different

  1. Look at those biscuits! Wow! So fluffy!

    I like to eat eggs for a weeknight dinner… its quick and easy for me 🙂

    every so often I have weeks where I just feel off… it typical coincides with that monthly visitor 😉

  2. I’m going through the same thing right now. I just can’t get control over my abnormal and annoying attitude and I’ve been very moody. Blech.

    I hope things turn around for you soon!

  3. I’m sorry you’ve been having weird moods. I’m sure it’ll be short-lived and you’ll be back to normal soon 🙂

    Thank you for being honest about the recovery process. I never believe anyone when they write that they feel awesome after just running a marathon. That’s why I love you…you’re a real lady!

  4. Congrats on the marathon!! So did you qualify for Boston?? Your time kicked ass 🙂

    And yeah, running totally messes up my appetite sometimes. I just go with it

Leave a Reply

