Kate’s Granola Bars [Easily Veganified]

Kate, a fellow fitness enthusiast, and unbeknownst to me, reader of my blog, threw me an email the other day saying how she read my blog and had a few different recipes for me to try.  This is hers- adapted by me (to have a little more protein and whatever was in my cupboards that looked good- I’m not going to lie- I’m running low on oats so I grabbed the quinoa flakes and barley so I’ll be able to have oats for brekkie tomorrow).

I also took the idea of Averie’s coconut oil chocolate and mixed the agave and coconut oil, instead of butter and honey- I added the chocolate chips to hide the actual flavor of the chocolate soy protein powder- If you have a good protein powder, or do these protein powder-less then I’m sure you won’t need the chocolate chips- but let’s be honest- we all need them!

Ingredients:
4 Cups of Oats (I used 1C quinoa flakes, 1C Barley, 2C oats)
1 Cup of Dried Fruit (I used raisins)
1 Cup Pecan Halves coarsely chopped (these I used)
2 tsp Vanilla
1 tsp cinnamon (I used more- I never measure cinnamon- I just shake a lot in)
1/4 Cup coconut oil (you can use butter)
1/2 Cup Agave nectar (you can use honey)
1/2 Cup Apple Sauce

Optional Ingredients:
1/4C either Flax or Chia Seeds
Sprinkle of Flaked Coconut
2 Scoops of Protein Powder (I used chocolate Soy in these)
1/4C Chocolate Chips (I used a 1/4C and melted them into the agave, coconut oil and apple sauce)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 F. Line a 9 X 13 ” baking pan with parchment paper (with parchment paper up at least 2 sides of pan to help lift out).
  2. Place the first 5 ingredients in a bowl.
  3. In sauce pan melt butter, add honey and applesauce until combined, add vanilla, [I added chocolate chips here, but you don’t have to] then pour over dry ingredients. Mix well.
  4. Spoon and spread the mixture into the lined pan, and pack down tightly.
  5. Bake for 25 minutes or until lightly golden and slightly firm to the touch. Cool to room temperature. Loosen bars from sides of the pan, and lift out using parchment paper.
  6. Place on cutting board. Use a sharp, serrated knife to cut into 32 squares. I place the squares (stacked with pieces of the parchment paper) directly into a tupperware, and store in the freezer.

These granola bars can be frozen up to 2 months, or stored in air-tight container up to a week.

Thanks for the great recipe Kate!

I think Kate needs a blog- she sent me this photo the morning after I posted this- Kate you're a star!
4 thoughts on “Kate’s Granola Bars [Easily Veganified]

Leave a Reply

