Fist Pump Friday!

Egg Poof with wilted spinach and 2 corn thins (not pictured) and coffee!

Today is going to be a good day. I can feel it- the sun is shining, I got out for my morning run, and my knee isn’t feeling too bad.

Yesterday I went to my athletic therapist who had a look at my knee- within the first five minutes I asked if I would be able to run the marathon- the answer? Yes! the pain? Nothing I’d want you to feel.  She was digging into my hips with her elbows for about an hour as I moved my legs up and down left and right.  She told me she’s seen 80 year old men with better flexibility than me- I told her that wasn’t a surprise because those guys usually move like cats- both agile and sprite.  I on the other hand am dealing with the pain of only having a 24 year old body- perhaps when I’m 80 I will be able to do the splits- I’ll hang on to the dream for then…

This weekend seems to be loaded with homework, and since I’ve got to take care of my body- it will be loaded with yoga as well- I just bought myself a month pass at Moksha, if you haven’t been there, definitely check it out- they teach great classes- and they’re warm!

Anyways- I’m off to research a paper- finish a pot of coffee and ice my knee- Fist Pump Friday? Because today is looking that good.

Are you flexible? Do you work on it? I hate stretching- never do, never want to unless I’m in a yoga class- so now I’m back to yoga, the ultimate compliment to my insane running schedule this year.

11 thoughts on “Fist Pump Friday!

  1. Yay for a happy Friday! 🙂 I’m pumped that you’ll be able to race, that’s great.

    I’m definitely a big yoga person. It has increased my flexibility a ton.

    Enjoy your day!

  2. I didn’t use to be very flexible because I hated stretching too but lately I’ve been stretching and.. I love it! I’m getting more flexible so quickly and it feels cool.

  3. I’m not flexible at all! In fact..I’m embarrassingly unflexible. I’ve been thinking about doing yoga for a month to see what kind of improvement I’ll see. Maybe this was the kick in the butt I needed to start!

    Fist pump for the marathon!!!

  4. I’m fist pumpin’ from the windows to the walls b*tch!

    I’m so glad you’ll be able to run in your marathon. Yoga is definitely a great way to increase your flexibility. I usually stretch for a good 10 minutes after waking up while my coffee is brewing. It helps start the day off right. Have a fun weekend!

  5. lol this post was great, right from the title i knew it’d be a fun one to read :). but yours always are! haha 80 year old man? yikes! but that jack la lane guy or whatever, the one with the juicer, he’s REALY old and super flexible and fit, so don’t worry too much. i used to be a gymnast, and sadly now i struggle to touch my toes. but i know it’s nothing i can’t get back if i work at it!

  6. I’m glad your knee is feeling better & that you’ll still be able to run the marathon!

    I try and stretch as often as I can because it really does help. I’m not a rubber band though 🙂

  7. I always fist pump on Friday. Great news that you got the marathon okay!

    I love stretching. In fact, I make my husband stretch me out all the time – like a gymnastics coach or something ;-). If I don’t stretch after a long run, the next day I feel HORRIBLE. Tight and achy.

  8. I was going to say Hot Yoga!! I’ve danced all my life so to the average person I’m “flexible” but in dancer’s standards I’ve only got average flexibility. I’d try doing a little stretching every night before bed, or right out of the shower when your body is warm!

Leave a Reply

