Are you a Runner?

Hey Friends- I just wanted to share with you a little about what I’m getting into as my training starts to pick up, our longest run being on April 10th- which is  a run where we go from downtown in my city to a down town in a city (Sidney) just on the outskirts of Victoria.  I’ve ran part way out to the city and back, I’ve rode out and back, but I’ve never ran there.  I’m not going to lie- I’m excited about the prospect of being able to add that to the list of things I’ve done.

Do you have a list of 100 Things you want to do before you die? Or a list of anything that you want to do in general?  My list creates itself, erases itself and then builds up from scratch all over again.  I think most of the items on that list come from a person dangling the carrot in front of my nose and me just needing to go for it (enter the Sidney run).  It’s kind of nice not having that pressure of having to do anything, but also, when you complete something on that list, that you did something huge.

When I completed my first marathon, at 19, within 10 minutes after the race I thought to myself thank god that’s over- crossed off the list- done-zo. A week or two later though, I started thinking to myself maybe I should do one every five years- that would be cool.  I quickly forgot that goal and carried on with my life, backpacking through Fiji and Australia, moving to Vancouver and then heading back up to school to complete one program, and then another.  That’s when my girlfriend (Liz- I love you) told me she was doing a marathon this May.

I got out my hand and counted the years.  This was year 5- that old list came and slapped me in the face- along with the other one of running it under 4 hours.  I signed up that day and within 24 hours I was in a run club and within 72 I was at the run club making friends.  This all needed to happen fast- I had to get in there, and be immersed.  I’m an all or nothing kind of person you could say. I can’t half ass do anything- I can do it and do it well, or I can’t/won’t. I think it’s fair to say this is an attitude that surrounds many people.  I like to think I’m lucky because I recognize it- whether I always use it to my advantage is another story…

Anyways, what I really wanted to share with you was this list- It’s funny how many I can actually check off- what are you at?

26.2 Ways to Know You are a Runner

1. You know how many miles there are in a marathon.

2. Your weekly mileage is how much you run, not your
commute to work.

3. You know how many miles you get out of a pair of
running shoes.

4. You can convert Kilometers to Miles in your head.

5. You measure your running route in your car to get
the exact mileage.

6. When someone tells you their age, you automatically
know their Boston qualifying time.

7. You know Grandma’s as the route from Two Harbors to
Duluth, not the person.

8. You can drink, blow your nose and pee on the run.

9. The problem with the treadmill is there’s no place
to spit.

10. You have less than ten toenails and that’s normal
for you.

11. Body Glide is your friend.

12. Ibuprofen is affectionately known as “Vitamin I”.

13. Navigating walkers, dogs and baby strollers annoys
you because it interrupts your pace.

14. When you participate in an organized event, you
know not to run in your race t-shirt.

15. You have a favorite energy gel and flavor.

16. The “Picasso” above your fireplace is last year’s
TCM poster.

17. You have pre and post race rituals.

18. The journal you keep is in miles and pace not
feelings or thoughts.

19. When you look at the weather conditions, you
calculate how many layers to wear.

20. The pride you feel after a good run is worth the
pain it took to get there.

21. You have more t-shirts than you could possibly
wear.

22. When you hear the word “bib”, you think of race
numbers not babies and Gerber food.

23. The “no carbohydrate diet” does not apply to you.

24. You know that Fartlek is not vulgar terminology.

25. A hill is an opportunity just waiting to be
challenged.

26. You know the phrase “you’re almost there” only
applies when the finish line is in sight.

.2 Your vacation destination is determined by your
race schedule.

7 thoughts on “Are you a Runner?

  1. haha I loved this list and I’d say 75% of it applied to me.

    “You have less than ten toenails and that’s normal
    for you.” <– gross but true 😉

  2. Great post! I so can’t wait to get back to running I used to run 5 times a week before hurting my back so I long just to be able to run solidly for 20 minutes! Not long now though I’m getting stronger everyday! x x

Leave a Reply

