Electrolytes. Are you getting enough?

I’m pretty excited to share a new product with you all! Have you ever heard of Nuun?  They are natural energy tabs that have no added sugar and the proper electrolyte balance, perfect for those of us training for endurance events (me and my marathon) or those heading to any sweaty workout (like Bikram yoga).  Today is the day that I’m doing my long run 2h30min in Mexico- I know that I won’t be stepping out the door without my loser belt (water belt) filled with my Nuun.

You all have been met with this feeling in one way or another, when it’s race season..

Your heart is pumping, your breathing is strong and steady, your stride seems to strike the ground with ease pushing you forward to a place you haven’t been before.

Then it hits.  Your heart pounds from your chest, but your body is no longer moving the way it was only seconds ago. The pain is unimaginable, you jog-walk, trying to shake out whatever that tension is in your calf, but the pain continues to pillage your muscles like you’ve never felt it before.  Knotting and twisting tighter, you try to stretch it, but every time you move, the knot gets tighter, the pain becomes more unbearable finally, you stop.

You thought you drank enough water before heading out so what else could it be… enter electrolytes!

Electrolytes are the electronically charged ions that your body depends on to function at a normal level.  Without the proper amounts, you will often start to experience lightheadedness, cramping, confusion, nausea, muscle spasms and twitches either during your run or in your day-to-day life.

To be certain you’re getting enough electrolytes in the correct amount, you need to be hydrating with sports drinks or energy tabs. If you’re doing a workout that is above and beyond normal (two hours or more); or you just sweat a lot (salty sweat that leaves residue when it dries), you need to be looking for drinks and tabs that will give you at least 500mg of sodium in every 20 ounces (making sure while you’re out on these runs you are consuming 10-20 ounces of fluids each hour). But don’t be fooled though.. some sports drinks like Gatorade and Powerade are loaded with extra sugar that your body does not need.

You’ve got to get into the natural energy tabs like Nuun, they make it easy.

So now that I’ve told you all about electrolytes and how I love nuun (samples happened to show up in my mailbox) what do I honestly think of this product?!

I have been buying it for years.  I love it.  I know you’re not supposed to drink too many electrolytes, but in the summer when I switch from running to cycling, I need to have electrolytes to keep my legs from cramping.  They make it easy, they’re a little bit fizzy, but not so much that you start burping it up.  They’re light and fresh, and the best part of them is that you don’t get the sugar hit like you do with traditional sports drinks.  Lot’s of people need the electrolytes, but few need the added calories that are packed in a gatorade.

So what’s in it for you? A tube of course!

  1. Leave me a comment of which flavor you would like to try (head to their website to see the flavours), or which flavor you’d like to see invented
  2. Link this giveaway back to your blog
  3. If you don’t have a blog- I won’t hate, you can enter too, just by leaving a comment and following me on twitter

Then my  friends, when I get home from Mexico- on March 22nd- I will send you your very own tube of Nuun to try.  Each tube has 12 tablets and will last you quite a while- unless you decide to share the love- I won’t judge if you do!


27 thoughts on “Electrolytes. Are you getting enough?

  1. Hmmm…I see different coloured tubes on the website, but I don’t see any flavours. Personally, a lemon or lime flavour is what I’d like!

    I’m definitely looking into these – I’ve realized that my long runs are definitely lacking in the electrolytes department. Off to see if I can get these around me!

  2. Well, the hubster has always used the Berry flavour, probably because that’s what Santa left in his stocking, or maybe because it’s almost his name, but I found it a bit too sweet. One day, on a long bike ride with a tall lanky guy and his bombshell of a wife, I was offered a taste of the lemon lime variety. I’ve been a believer ever since! It’s lemon lime all the way, for me!
    In terms of new flavors, I wonder if they could make a chocolate ice cream version.

  3. Oh man… I go through nuun faster than Michael Phelps could down a 12-stack of pancakes. Haha that was a really lame analogy, but FAST!

    My favorite flavor hands down is the Kona Kola!! Followed by the classic Lemon-Lime 🙂

  4. ooh tropical or banana sound great–heck, they all sound good! I am a firm believer in electrolytes, too. it is really easy for my body to get out of whack,and making sure to remember to balance my electrolytes usually gets me back on track. Have an AWESOME time in Mexico babe! xoxo

Leave a Reply

