Sunday Studies


Today has been a fun filled day of textbooks, practice exams, eating and sitting.  Other then the school work, today was a pretty good day.

I got up this morning at the unreasonable (for a Sunday) hour of 7am, surprisingly feeling quite good.  I had energy, the sun was rising at the same time I was.  That was all before it disappeared behind the clouds before I could even get a coffee in my system.  The grey clouds of homework I haven’t been doing and midterms I have ahead suddenly rushed over my day.

Not even the spelt banana hazelnut muffin and soy africano (americano-misto in American English) could break me out of the funk.  So, I came home and got out the books that I’d been desperately trying to avoid.  I spent a solid three hours shoulder deep in texts, reading about all the various types of loaded language and emotional intelligence until I could not take it any longer.

I had to breakaway, and breakaway I did.  I went shopping to find my secret bloggie valentine a little something.  I know it’s early, but incase you were wondering.. I’m a planner/list maker extraordinaire.  I love to plan, make lists, and then check or cross those lists off like it’s my job!  So, there I was, hunting down gifts in one of my favorite organic stores in the city hoping to find that one thing that could make some ones day.  I think I got it, but time will only tell.

I then came home and met my momma for a little mid day breakfast of toast, poached eggs and fruit salad at a local place about 15minutes from my house.  The little known place is called the Urban Cup and the people who go there vary from urban hipsters, to college hungover kids to senior citizens. It’s an awesome meal at a great price, so it brings in all kinds of good people watching (favorite hobby).

Once I got home again, I hit the books for a little while before the kitchen started calling my name again.  There were over ripe bananas, and I had a craving (due to clouds and homework) that was calling me to make chocolate banana muffins, so you know what I did? I made chocolate banana muffins! They are going to be my dessert for dinner tonight, and I have not tried one, but they have been given the parental thumbs up of approval, so I know that I can post them here.

Happy Sunday Friends, from me to you: Banana Chocolate Muffins

Ingredients:
1/2C Apple Sauce
1 Egg
2 Mashed Bananas
2/3C Brown Sugar
2/3C Spelt Flour
1/3C all purpose Flour
1/3C Cocoa
1t baking soda
1/2t salt
1t vanilla

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350.
  2. Mix the wet ingredients in one bowl, the dry in the other and then mix them together (home economics style)
  3. Sprinkle some chocolate chips into the mix for luck
  4. Bake (minis- 15minutes; regulars- 20minutes)

Enjoy!

9 thoughts on “Sunday Studies

  1. aw sorry about the funky day. i hate when clouds make the whole day feel dark and gloomy! baking is usually a good way to turn that around though. taste test those babies!!!

Leave a Reply

