Cramming Never Works

And I never seem to learn my lesson.

This morning I woke up after my food coma from last night not feeling rested or refreshed, but still feeling full and like I had a lot to get done today.  My day started with me trying to chug my cup of coffee which resulted in my spitting the coffee back into the mug and grabbing ice to make an ice coffee instead.  And no, that doesn’t only happen in movies, it happens in real life too.

I then headed on down to my run clinic, on this very sunny day and enjoyed a nice trot down to the ocean and around and back.  I’m still not used to being paced for a marathon, so I feel like I’m going so slow.  I don’t think I’ll be feeling like I’m going so slow when I get to my 2 and 3 hour runs, but right now I feel like I could almost walk faster.  Kind of frustrating, but I have a “higher” understanding which will hopefully kick in soon and take care of my frustration.

I came home from run clinic and whipped together a quick bowl of oats (1/4C oats, 1T chia seeds, 1T PB/AB combo, 1 banan) and finished off my pot of coffee before having to get up to the university for a field hockey game.  I was hoping that I was going to be playing defense, with every intention of running as little as possible, but somehow was stuck playing center forward.  Needless to say my legs were cramping like none other in the last 15minutes.  When it was all said and done I stood in my shower for a good 15-20minutes not moving, just trying to pretend the outside world didn’t want anything from me.

I got out of my shower and managed to throw on some clothes to make some lunch (steamed veg with goat cheese and Mary’s crackers crunched on top; turkey pepperoni and a ww stoned wheat thin; and a kiwi).  I ate and watched some of that Haiti concert they had on last night and then stuck my face into a text book for a good 3 hours.


When I surfaced, I was tired/hungry and tried to have a nap, then decided chocolate ice milk with granola on top and a slice of bakery fresh rye bread was in order.  I don’t know anyone who needs a nap after that kind of snack, so I got to making my dinner.

Last weekend I put in a request for broccoli from costco, and immediately forgot the request so went down to the store and grabbed about 3 stalks.  Needless to say, I’ve been eating the stuff like it’s my job.  Tonight I decided I was going to finally crack into the bag with a vengeance and whipped together a lovely broccoli soup (vegan- for all us lactards and veggie lovers!).  I’m excited to sit down and have a nice bowl of it after such a long day of physical/mental activity- je suis tres exhausted (yes, I’m bilingual.. sort of).

I’m going to save photos for the next post, and make sure to include a recipe, because it’s just that good.

Anyways, I’m off to that Michael Cera movie and then off in the morning for a little hike, which I will be sure to snap lot’s of photos of for you!

Don’t forget to enter the GIVEAWAY– I’m drawing names tomorrow at 3pm!

2 thoughts on “Cramming Never Works

Leave a Reply

